Curve Commissioned Community Project: Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Fri 11 Sep 2020

Earlier this year, faced with great uncertainty, we made the difficult decision to postpone our 2020 production of The Wizard of Oz to Christmas 2021. Throughout these challenging times we have remained committed to providing audiences with hope and positivity through online content; although the road to Oz is now much longer than we could have ever imagined, that’s no reason to stop us sharing the show’s central themes of friendship, camaraderie and joy.

Over the summer, we’ve worked with over 60 singers, signers and musicians to create a digital community choir performance of Somewhere Over the Rainbow, with musical direction from Alex Parker and video editing by Ben Hewis. As well as members of our Curve Young Company, Friends and Supporters, you’ll also see signers from Leicester Deaf Action Group, singers from our Associate companies Kaine Choir, National Youth Music Theatre and more, as well as Rainbows Hospice‘s Bow the Bear and Oscar our theatre dog (and possible Toto contender!).

The song stands as one of the most iconic pieces of all time, its message of hope for better times all the more significant this year. The rainbow a powerful symbol of community and coming together to support one another.

A huge thank you to all those who have taken part in this video. We hope its joy and happiness reach from our home in Leicester to yours.

We’re also pleased to let you know that tickets for The Wizard of Oz at Curve in 2021 are now on sale. Click here to find out more and book.



Abbie Palliser Kehoe, Aimee Coe, Alan Heggs, Alex Budding, Alyshia Dhakk, Anthony Clare, Barnaby Williams, Bea Watkins, Ben Watts, Rainbows Hospice Bow the Bear, Carmen Farrell, Dario Duarte, Ella Morelle, Ellen Milford, Evie-May Parker, Flo Elly, Georgie Gaudencio, Hannah Willars, Harrison Ince, Harry Gascoigne, India Lily Cooper, Jacob Beresford, Jaedyn Wilson, Jasmine Jelfs, Jenn Brown, Jonathan Kerry, Joshua Price, Karen Cheesman, Katrina Kinch, Laragh Osman, Lauren Bell, Linda Fox, Matt Hilton, Matthew Palliser Kehoe, Maya Roper, Megan Haupt, Molly Prower, Olivia Bedford, Dresden Goodwin, Poppy Marriott, Rebecca Willis, Ritva & Oscar, Rose, Rosy Smith, Samuel Palliser Kehoe, Shaira, Sinead Barrs, Sophie Prince, Tilly Ducker, Victoria Coulton, Wendy King, Yasmine Berraoui & Zach Walsh


Keys – Alex Parker

Violin – Emily Davis

Cello – Dave Hornberger

Double Bass – Adam Higgs

Flute – Sarah Manship

Clarinet – Hannah Lawrance

Oboe – Ilid Jones

Horn – Joe Ryan



Kay, Anne, Vicky, Dana, Teresa & Tilly.



Ben Hewis